Anti-Discrimination Commission Qld to become Qld Human Rights Commission

The Anti-Discrimination Commission Queensland will be renamed the Queensland Human Rights Commission from 1 July following the passage of the Queensland Human Rights Bill through state parliament.

The Queensland Human Rights Commission will perform the complaints handling, training and education functions under the Anti-Discrimination Act 1991.

The introduction of the Queensland Human Rights Act will also place obligations on state government departments, local councils, the QPS, state schools and organisations delivering public services and protect 23 rights as below:

  • recognition and equality before the law
  • right to life
  • protection from torture and cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment
  • freedom from forced work
  • freedom of movement
  • freedom of thought, conscience, religion and belief
  • freedom of expression
  • peaceful assembly and freedom of association
  • taking part in public life
  • property rights
  • privacy and reputation
  • protection of families and children
  • cultural rights – generally
  • cultural rights – Aboriginal peoples and Torres Strait Islander peoples
  • right to liberty and security of person
  • humane treatment when deprived of liberty
  • fair hearing
  • rights in criminal proceedings
  • children in the criminal process
  • right not to be tried or punished more than once
  • retrospective criminal laws
  • right to education
  • right to health services