Change to 2020 Ekka Public Holiday

Last month, Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk announced the Ekka public holiday designated for the Brisbane City Council area would be rescheduled from Wednesday, 12 August to Friday, 14 August for 2020. The change is only applicable for one year.

On 16 June 2020, Minister for Education and Industrial Relations, Grace Grace, announced in Parliament that a number of other council areas across Queensland – including Logan City – had also determined to move their scheduled Show Holiday to Friday, 14 August 2020.

In addition to Brisbane City Council, the following districts will this year observe their Show Day public holiday on Friday, 14 August (dates in brackets indicate original public holiday date, which has been repealed):

Weipa (8 June); Rockhampton (11 June); Shire of Cloncurry (12 June); Shire of Livingstone (12 June); Mackay (18 June); Whitsunday Region – Bowen (23 June); Burdekin (24 June); Charters Towers (28 July); Logan City (10 August); Gold Coast (28 August).

Previously scheduled Show Holidays for Northern Peninsula Area (21 August) and Longreach Region (9 September) have also been repealed with a replacement date yet to be confirmed.

All other Show Holiday dates which form part of the Queensland public holiday calendar will proceed as scheduled, despite the fact that rural and regional agricultural shows have been cancelled as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. This includes the Moreton Bay Shire & City of Redland which will both observe their Show Holiday on Monday, 10 August 2020, as planned.